Content copyright © 2014. Big Red Drivers Ed. All rights reserved.
What do I need to know if I register for the ONLINE course? Students read through the textbook, How To Drive by AAA, and view corresponding videos at their own pace. There is a quiz over the material at the end of each chapter and several short essays reflecting various topics. Required steps for the Online Course:
1. Compete the registration page on the website and submit your payment.
2. Purchase the textbook that goes along with this course. This is available online or as a paperback book. Links for purchasing will be provided once you register for the course. The cost of the textbook is in addition to the cost of the course. (The online version is approximately $18 and a paperback version is approximately $23.)
2. You will have 60 days to complete the online portion of the course, and you must have an average of 70% at the end of the course.
3. You will have behind-the-wheel driving lessons with an instructor, and you must be able to pass the drive test after completion of your driving lessons. The instructor will contact you to schedule your drive times once the online portion is satisfactorily completed. If you are unable to obtain a 70% average, we will discuss transferring you to the next available in-person class that isn't full at no additional charge.
What is required to take a class (whether in-person or online)? Students must have a Nebraska issued Learner's Permit prior to participating in the driving portion of the class.
How many hours will a student need to drive with a teacher and how is this scheduled? Students should be prepared to drive up to five hours, however, most students pass the drive test after two hours. Student drive in a Big Red Drivers Ed provided car with a passenger side brake. Students needing more than five hours of drive time will be charged an additional fee. Driving schedules will be created during the first week of class (or after enrolling in an online class) through an online sign-up process. We realize students have many activities, and we are able to work around most scheduling conflicts. Students that live in the Millard area will be picked up and dropped off at their homes for each scheduled drive time. Students outside the Millard area will be picked up and dropped off at Russell Middle School. Students should plan on completing the driving portion of the class up to two weeks after the last classroom session.
After the course, will a student still have to take the written and driving tests when turning 16 and apply for a Provisional Operators Permit (POP)? No, if you complete this Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) approved driver safety course and pass our written and driving tests, we will submit a waiver to the DMV, and you will not have to do any additional testing to receive your license. Please note the following: By Nebraska law, anyone under the age of 18 must hold their Learner's Permit for six months before applying for their POP. This means you shouldn't delay in getting your Learner's Permit when you turn 15 if you want to drive independently when you turn 16. We cannot give the drive test to students who are 18 years of age or older. These students may still take the course, however, unlike students under 18 years of age, they will have to test at the DMV.
Does completion of a class reduce the student's future car insurance premium? Discounts vary depending on your insurance provider and your specific plan. Please contact your insurance provider for details.
What happens if something comes up and I can no longer take the session that I registered for? We are glad to refund your money (less a $15.00 processing charge) or reschedule your session if a conflict arises. However, once the session begins, we cannot refund your money.
How much does the class cost? Can I make payments? The total cost of the class, including the actual driving instruction, is $350.00 (add $10.00 if paying by PayPal). We will do our best to accommodate your financial needs. Please contact us to discuss a plan that works for you.
If I have additional questions, how do I contact you? You may contact us at the email address on the top of this page or call one of the owners/instructors: Jay Sealer at 402-699-7594 or Brad Sullivan at 402-504-0638.